Age of Sigmar: Kharadron Overlords

I have been wanting to post something about the new Kharadron Overlords for some time. I finally now have something I can present to you. About a week ago, the first wave of new pirate dorfs were released and I picked up a few of them. I also decided it was time to retire my old P3 paints and upgrade to some new (arguably better) paints from citadel. I am almost ashamed of how much money I have spent in such a short amount of time but it has been well worth it.

20170430_173657
I splurged a little…

It was so worth it, apparently, that I completely forgot to take more photos while painting my first model: The Arkanaut Admiral.

20170428_155607

I’ll go over rules and warscrolls some other time, but to make it short, the Arkanaut Admiral is a BEAST. His standard attacks with his hammer does 2 damage, but the heroes have a artifact they can take that DOUBLES the damage of a single weapon in thier arsenal. (CORRECTION: The artifact actually only doubles the damage on a wound roll of 6.) Two attacks at  3+/2+ with a natural -2 rend doing 4 damage? YES PLEASE. Not to mention he has a command ability called “Talk Softly, Carry a Big Hammer” that allows him to re-roll all failed to-hit and wound rolls in the combat phase. With 6 wounds and a natural 3+ save, the Arkanaut Admiral (Or what we are calling him at my LGS, “Papa Dwarf”) is a force to be reckoned with in melee.

20170428_155624

I said before that I upgraded my painting repertoire right? Well I did. I spent about 100 dollars assembling the paints I needed to paint my entire army in the scheme of Karak-Ziflin. Below is a list of what I got in case you are also interested:

  • Chaos Black Primer
  • Leadbelcher
  • Balthasar Gold
  • Abaddon Black
  • The Fang
  • Rakarth Flesh
  • Rhinox Hide
  • Screamer Pink
  • Fulgurite Copper
  • Thunderhawk Blue
  • Mechanicus Standard Grey
  • Pallid Wych Flesh
  • Skrag Brown
  • Reilkland Fleshshade Gloss
  • Nuln Oil (Owned)
  • Druchii Violet
  • Reikland Fleshshade (Owned)
  • Sycorax Bronze
  • Russ Grey
  • White Scar
  • Balor Brown
  • Administratum Grey
  • Stormhost Silver
  • Pink Horrer

20170428_15565420170428_155704

Here he is, the Admiral himself all assembled and ready to go. I was blown away by the detail on this sculpt. I hope Games Workshop continues this trend. While I do miss the days of all-metal figures, I do understand why most miniature manufacturers have moved over to plastic.

Now as I said before, I was so enthralled in this model, that I completely forgot to take progress photos. So sadly, the next pic is pretty much done except for the base…

20170429_18431820170429_184418

I have to say Citadel… I like your paints. Smooth, easy to work with and only require a small amount of watering down. I took extra care to get as many details as I could. The glowing blue in his Aether-Engine, the white and red in the gauges, etc. Such a fun model to paint.

Now for the completed photos!

20170430_17382220170430_173840

I went a different direction with this base. Rather than the typical brown dirt base, I decided to go for a more ‘Tundra’ or ‘Desolated Landscape’ kind of vibe. It was done with some very fine sand I got at my LGS, base coated with Mechanicus Standard Grey, washed with Agrax Earthshade, then dry brushed with Administratum Grey. A very simple yet effective technique!

Hope you enjoyed! I am prepping now for my Arkanaut Company and will not forget to get progress pictures for my next post.

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Age of Sigmar: Kharadron Overlords

Leave a Reply

